The Sound of Music

The Sound of Music (1959) is a musical with music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II and a book by Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse. It is based on the memoir of Maria von Trapp, The Story of the Trapp Family Singers. Many songs from the musical have become standards, such as "Edelweiss", "My Favorite Things", "Climb Ev'ry Mountain", "Do-Re-Mi", and the title song "The Sound of Music".

The original Broadway production, starring Mary Martin and Theodore Bikel, opened on November 16, 1959; the show has enjoyed numerous productions and revivals since then. It was adapted as a 1965 film musical starring Julie Andrews andChristopher Plummer, which won five Academy Awards. The Sound of Music was the final musical written by Rodgers and Hammerstein.

Production Team

Creative Team

Darryl Davis Director
David Kimpton Musical Director
Ashlea George  Choreographer
Chris Gracia Assistant Director
Mark Williams Assistant Musical Director
Fran Kendall Nuns Mentor / Coordinator
Jacob Ramm Director's Assistant

Technical Team

John Burg Production Manager
Karen Johnston Stage Manager
Doreen Cox Costume Designer / Coordinator
Beck Johnston Set Designer
Trish Penney
Robert Zwart
Roslyn English Assistant Production Manager
Ken Hind
Greg Quoy
Assistant Stage Managers
Chris King Publicity and Promotions
Damian Rice Lighting Designer
Noel Borger Foyer Designer
April Daley-Holmes 
Jenny Vangelatos
Dresser Coordination
Lorraine George
Maryann Hamilton
Kerrie Rochford


View the cast list